Go Greenery for Improved Air Quality

Posted on October 21, 2011

0


Plants improve air quality—maybe not a newsflash to most of you. Yet as a follow-up to my recent pieces on design and indoor air quality, I have a short piece worth pointing out from the November issue of Reader’s Digest (I read most everything I can get my hands on).

RD cites a Wall Street Journal article from March on plants’ ability to improve indoor air quality, specifically by reducing particulates and filtering toxins in the air such as those coming from cigarette smoke, fabrics and building materials.

Reader’s also notes a study published in the London Daily Mail reminding people that potted plants reduce fatigue, stress, dry throats and skin, headaches and coughs in workers. In addition a website, easywaystogogreen.com, offers a handy rule-of-thumb for indoor greenery supply:  one or two small plants for every 175 square feet of space. I wonder how many hospitals meet that?

With the clear benefits of live plants indoors, it seems plant life should be not only very present in hospitals, but showcased as part of a healing environment.

Posted in: Interior Design